Vocalise Home

About Vocalise

A community choir based in Blackburn, Lancashire. We welcome anyone who simply enjoys singing.

Vocalise is our Youth Choir.

Under the leadership of our musical directors, Matthew Thomas and Jeff Borradaile, we sing an exciting range of songs, all a cappella. No audition!

Our choir is supported by Blackburn People’s Choir and friends and there is no charge for members. We meet every Thursday 5.30pm – 6.30pm.

Vocalise is sponsored by Blackburn with Darwen Arts Council, The John Laing Charitable Trust Fund, and The Young Weavers.

For more information email vocalise@blackburnpeopleschoir.org or call 07834 609846.

Wesley Hall Central Methodist Church
Feilden Street

Contact Us


Vocalise Videoed!
Published: 6 Nov 2017

Vocalise has been fortunate to receive funding from the Community Foundation for Lancashire.

A Film crew recently visited to make a video of what we do.

You can see it here! 

Congratulations to all involved!


Vocalise at SingTogether
Published: 30 Mar 2017

Our fabulous youth choir Vocalise sent at the SingTogether concert on Saturday 25th March




Thursday 22nd March 2018

Last rehearsal for Vocalise before Easter break

Thursday 29th March 2018

No Vocalise (Easter break)

Thursday 5th April 2018

No Vocalise (Easter break)

No BPC (Easter break)


Thursday 12th April 2018

Return of  Vocalise and BPC after Easter break

Friday 27th April 2018

Vocalise to sing at St Silas Church, Preston New Rd, Blackburn BB2 6PS, as part of the concert given by Rossendale Male Voice Choir.

Sunday 17th June 2018

In Memory event, Corporation Park (afternoon) BPC and Vocalise

Friday 29th June 2018

Vocalise to sing at the Sing Together event at Blackpool Tower ballroom.

Friday 6th July 2018

End of year concert for all groups – BPC, Maelstrom, Decibelles and Vocalise, 7.30 pm Wesley Hall

Sunday 15th July 2018

Involvement in the launch of the first Clitheroe Peace Festival for Choirs, a First World War commemorative event. Provisionally:
Possible busking in the morning in Clitheroe, meet 11.00 am.
Grand Theatre concert 4,00pm, for BPC, Maelstrom, Decibelles and Vocalise, meet 3.15 pm.

Finale event 7.00, with Honour choir and mass sing, meet 6.15

Thursday 19th July 2018

Last rehearsal for Vocalise before summer break

Thursday 6th September 2018

Return of Vocalise after summer break